12 new house of representatives members take oath of office, allegiance


Twelve out of 15 new members of the house of representatives on Thursday took their oath of office and allegiance, following their triumph at the rerun election conducted in different constituencies across the country.

Fifteen candidates won the poll but 12 turned up for the administration of the oath during the plenary presided by the speaker of the house, Mr Tajudeen Abbas.

Recall that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had on Saturday conducted by-elections and rerun elections in 17 federal constituencies across the country.

Two of the elections were declared inconclusive, while certificates of return were issued to 15 elected members.

The newly elected members are Umar Garba (Ngaski/Shanta/Yauri federal constituency of Kebbi State-APC), Ifeoluwa Ehindero (Akoko North East/North West of Ondo State-APC), Faud Laguda (Surulere 1 federal constituency of Lagos state- APC), Saleh Zock (Kachia/Kangaroo federal constituency of Kaduna State-APC), aDaniel Ago (Jos North/Bassa federal constituency of Plateau State-LP), Yusuf Tafoki (Faskari/Kankara/Sabuwa of Katsina State- APC), Mohammed Jajere (Fune/Fune federal constituency of Yobe State-PDP).

Others are Rabiu Kamba (Arewa/Dandi federal constituency of Kebbi State- APC), Emma Udo (Ikono/Ini federal constituency of Akwa Ibom State-YPP), Emil Inyang (Akamkpa/Biase Federal constituency of Cross River State- APC), Peter Uzokwe (Nnewi North/Nnewi South federal constituency of Anambra State-YPP), Chinwe Orumba North/Orumba South federal constituency of Anambra State-YPP), Adamu Yakubu (Birnin Kudu/Buji federal constituency of Jigawa State-PDP), Yusuf Umar Yabo (Yabo/Shagari federal constituency of Sokoto State-PDP) and Husseini Jallo (Igabi Federal Constituency of Kaduna State-PDP).