Tambuwal, 18 Sokoto Assembly lawmakers defect to PDP

*Tambuwal addressing his supporters at the Government House in Sokoto on Wednesday

The Sokoto State governor, Mr. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, on Wednesday defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Tambuwal’s defection came one week (Wednesday, July 25) after the governor of Benue State, Dr. Samuel Ortom and 22 lawmakers dumped the party and barely 48 hours after the governor of Kwara State, Mr. Abdulfattah Ahmed and the senate president, Dr. Bukola Saraki left the party.

The governor announced his defection at the Government House, Sokoto, amid hundreds of supporters who stormed the Government House to declare their support for him.

Tambuwal explained on his Twitter handle that he took the decision after a wide consultation with the people of the state who assured him of their support for his next political move.

The announcement came after weeks of speculation that the governor was planning to leave the APC and one day after he called on Nigerians to reject what he described as “prison-yard democracy”.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), reports that 18 out of the 30 members of the Sokoto State House of Assembly on defected along with Tambuwal.

The speaker of the House of Assembly, Mr. Salihu Maidaji, who was among the 18 defecting members, announced at the plenary made the announcement at the Assembly plenary on Wednesday.

“We the undersigned 18 members of the Sokoto State House of Assembly belong and identify with the faction of the APC led by one of its founders, Buba Galadima.

“We are aware that all efforts to bring sanity into the APC and unite the different groups, camps and faction have proved abortive.

“After several attempts and efforts and the election is around the corner and we stand in danger if we remained in a party that is divided against itself.

“As such, in accordance with the letters and spirit of Section 109 (1) (g) of the Constitution as amended, hereby defect to PDP forthwith,” he said.

Reacting to the resolution by the 18 members, the remaining 12 members at a press briefing after the plenary wished them well in their new party.

Sani Yakubu (APC-Gudu), who spoke on their behalf, said the 12 members would continue to remain committed and loyal to the APC-led government under President Muhammadu Buhari.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here