UBA appoints four non-executive members


The United Bank for Africa has appointed Mrs. Erelu Angela Adebayo, Mrs.Angela Aneke, Mr. Abdulqadir Jeli Bello and Mr. Isaac Olukayode Fasola as the new non-executive board members, subject to the approval of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The bank said in a statement released on Friday that the new board members were appointed to replace Rose Okwechime, Adekunle Olumide, Ja’afaru Paki and Yahaya Zekeri, who retired with effect from August 30, 2018.

“I am pleased to welcome Erelu Adebayo, Angela Aneke, Abdulqadir Bello and Kayode Fasola to the group board.

“These men and women bring a wealth of experience in their fields and will be tremendous assets, as we deliver on our mission to become the leading Pan-African financial institution in all our countries of operation.”

“I am particularly pleased that two of the newly appointed Non-Executive Directors are women, bringing the total number of women to four, a further demonstration of our commitment to ensuring equality for both men and women,” said the group chairman of UBA, Mr. Tony Elumelu.

He expressed appreciation to the retiring directors for their contribution, hard work and commitment to UBA.

“I would like to express my appreciation to our retiring Directors for their leadership and dedication to UBA and for their contribution to an already impressive 2018. I wish them the very best in their future endeavours,” he added.

The bank recently acquired operating licences in Mali and the United Kingdom adding to the already existing 18 countries where it is operating.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here