APC spanks PDP in Katsina, Kwara, Bauchi by-elections


The All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday won the by-election into the Kankiya/Kusada/Ingawa federal constituency seat of Katsina State and that of /lrepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero federal constituency of Kwara State.

The party also won the bye-election in Kankiya/Kusada/Ingawa federal constituency of Katsina State and Toro federal constituency of Bauchi State

The by-elections were conducted to fill three vacant seats in the House of Representatives in Katsina, Kwara and Bauchi states and state constituency in Cross River State.

In Katina State, APC candidate, Abubakar Kusada, polled a total of 48,518 votes to defeat his closest rival, Abdussamad Yusuf of the PDP, who had 20,193 votes.

Announcing the results, the returning officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Rasheed Adebayo Hamzat, also said the PRP candidate polled 1,810 votes, while the Yes Electorate Solidarity (YES) got 221 votes.

In Kwara, the returning officer of INEC, Prof. Abimbola Adesoji, while declaring the result at the Irepodun local government secretariat in Omu-Aran on Sunday said Mr. Olawuyi of the APC polled 21, 236 to emerge winner.

He defeated his closest rival, Mr. Saheed Damilare of the PDP who polled 18,095 votes.

In Bauchi State, APC candidate, Yusuf Nuhu got 22,317 votes to defeat his nearest rival, Shehu Baba of the PDP who received 18,235 votes in the Toro federal constituency bye-election.

But the lkom ll constituency seat in the Cross River State House of Assembly, Mrs. Stella Egbung Nkoro of the PDP won by consensus.

It would be recalled that her husband died some months back and she is to replace him as a representative of that constituency.

All parties had agreed that the late Nkoro’s wife replace the husband since the term in office is almost due. She’s been accepted and the process is climaxed at INEC office at the moment.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here