Senate presidency: Lawan defeats Ndume

*Lawan, Ndume

Ime Akpan

The representative of Yobe North senatorial district on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Ahmad Lawan, today emerged the president of the ninth senate.

Ahmad polled 79 votes to beat his opponent, Mr. Ali Ndume (Borno South – APC) who polled 28 votes during a closed ballot election conducted before the swearing in of 107 senators-elect.

Mr. Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North – APC) moved the motion to nominate Lawan and the motion was seconded by Adeola Solomon (Lagos West – APC).

Ndume was nominated by Mr. Ishaku Abo (Adamawa North – PDP), and the motion was seconded by Mpigi Barry (Rivers South-East – PDP).

After all 107 senators present had voted and the result was announced, Lawan was sworn in by the clerk of the national assembly, Mr. Mohammed Sani-Omolori.

Lawan, who was the preferred candidate of the APC, had claimed during the campaigns that he was sure to win 99 votes with 61 coming from the party’s senators-elect and 38 from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) senators-elect.

For his part, Ndume who refused to toe the party’s line of presenting only one candidate for the post believed that endorsement does not always translate into electoral victory.