Bello wins APC governorship ticket


The governor of Kogi State, Mr. Yahaya Bello yesterday defeated nine other contestants to win the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket for the November 16 governorship election in the state.

Bello polled 3,091 votes to beat the other aspirants who contested the governorship primary in Lokoja.

The governor of Jigawa State, Mr. Abubakar Badaru, who was the chairman of the electoral panel, said Mr. Babatunde Irukera came second with 109 votes while Mr. Hassan Bewa came third with 44 votes.

He said Mr. Yahaya Audu got 10 votes while Mr. Sani Abdullahi polled seven votes.

He also said Mr. Abubakar Bashir got three votes while Mrs. Blessing Ekele, Mrs. Hadiza Ibrahim, Mr. Yakubu Mohammed and Mr. Danlami Mohammed scored zero votes.

According to Badaru, 3,596 accredited delegates voted. Fifty-four votes were declared invalid.

The governor hailed the democratic posture of all the aspirants and appealed to them to join hands with him to win the state for APC in November.

Speaking with reporters after he was declared winner, Bello thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him to fly the party’s flag in the election and assured them he would not disappoint.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here