Buhari appoints new helmsmen for NEMA, NAICOM


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed retired AVM Muhammadu Alhaji Muhammed as the new director general of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

The appointment is contained in a press release signed by the rector of information in the office of the office of the secretary to the government of the federation, Mr. Willie Bassey.

Mohammed whose appointment takes effect from Thursday, April 30, 2020 and for an initial period of four years replaces Mr. Mustapha Y. Maihaja.

The statement reads: “President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of AVM Muhammadu Alhaji Muhammed (Rtd.) as the new Director-General of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

“This appointment took effect from Thursday, 30th April, 2020, for an initial period of four years in accordance with Section 3 of the National Emergency Management Agency Act.

“The erstwhile director general, Engr. Mustapha Y. Maihaja has been directed to handover all official matters to AVM Muhammadu Alhaji Muhammed (Rtd.) immediately.

“The President thanked the out-gone Director-General for his services and charged the new appointee to serve with diligence and commitment.”

Similarly, the president approved the appointment of Mr. Sunday Thomas as the substantive commissioner for insurance/chief executive officer of the National Insurance Commission (NAICOM).

Spokesman for the minister of finance, budget and national planning, Mr. Yunusa Tanko Abdullahi said in a statement that the appointment takes effect from May 2, 2020.

Thomas who served in acting capacity since July replaces the erstwhile commissioner and chief executive officer of the commission, Mr. Mohammed Kari.

Thomas, who has over three decades of experience in the industry as an operator and regulator, was appointed deputy commissioner in charge of technical matters in April 2017.

He was formerly director-general of the Nigerian Insurers Association (NIA) in 2010.

The president also approved the appointments of two board members for Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC). They are Mrs. Ya’ana Talib Yaro as non-executive director representing the North East, and Mrs. Diana O. Okonta as non executive director, south-south.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here