COVID-19: FG bars air travellers from India, Turkey, Brazil


With effect from Wednesday, May 4, 2021, the federal government will deny entry of travellers from India, Turkey and Brazil due to the worsening COVID-19 situation in those countries.

Chairman of the presidential steering committee on COVID-19 and secretary to the government of the federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha who announced the ban in a press release slapped a fine of $3, 500 per passenger on any erring airline.

However, he said the ban does not affect passengers who transit through the affected countries would not be denied entry into Nigeria.

He said the measure was taken in order to safeguard the health of the Nigerian population, as well to minimise the risk of a surge in the number of COVID-19 cases in the country.

Before arriving at the ban, he said the committee carried out a risk assessment of countries with high incidence of cases.

Mustapha said risk assessment took into consideration the epidemiology of cases, prevalence of variants of concern and average passenger volume between Nigeria and each country amongst other indicators.

He listed the decisions taken after a risk assessment embarked on by the committee.

These include reduction of the validity period of pre-boarding COVID-19 PCR test for all Nigeria-bound passengers from 96 hours to 72 hours; non-acceptance of PCR test results older than 72hours before departure; denial of entry of non-Nigerians and returning them to the country of embarkation at cost to the airline.

He also stated that Nigerians and those with permanent resident permit shall undergo seven days of mandatory quarantine in a government approved facility at the point-of-entry city and at cost to the passenger.

“Of the countries assessed, this interim travel advisory applies to three (3) countries in the first instance. These precautionary measures are a necessary step to minimize the risk of a surge in COVID-19 cases introduced to Nigeria from other countries, while national response activities continue.

“Nigerians are strongly advised to avoid any non-essential international travels to any country at this period and specifically to countries that are showing rising number of cases and deaths. The Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, after due consideration has therefore approved the implementation of the following measures:

(i) Reduction of the validity period of pre-boarding COVID-19 PCR test for all Nigeria bound passengers from 96hrs to 72 hours. Henceforth PCR test results older than 72 hours before departure shall not be accepted;

(ii) Guidelines specific to Brazil, India and Turkey

a. Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited Brazil, India  or Turkey within fourteen (14) days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be  denied entry into Nigeria. This regulation, however, does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries;

b. The following measures shall apply to airlines and passengers who fail to comply with (i) and (ii) a above: i. Airlines shall mandatorily pay a penalty of $3,500 (Three Thousand Five Hundred dollars) for each defaulting passenger; and ii. Non-Nigerians will be denied entry and returned to the country of embarkation at cost to the Airline;

c. Nigerians and those with permanent resident permit who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within Fourteen (14) days preceding travel to Nigeria shall be made to undergo seven (7) days of mandatory quarantine in a Government approved facility at the point-of-entry city and at cost to the passenger. The following condition shall apply to such passengers:

  1. Within 24 hours of arrival shall take a COVID-19 PCR test; ii. If Positive, the passenger shall be admitted within a government approved treatment centre, in line with National treatment protocols; and iii. If Negative, the Passenger shall continue to remain in quarantine and made to undergo a repeat PCR test on Day-7 of their quarantine.

(iii) Passenger(s) arriving in Nigeria from other destinations: a) Must observe a 7-day self-isolation at their final destination; b) Carry out a COVID-19 PCR test on day 7 at selected laboratory; and c) Shall be monitored for compliance to isolation protocol by appropriate authorities.

2.(iv) False declaration:  a) Passenger(s) who provided false or misleading contact information will be  liable to prosecution; and b) Person(s) who willfully disregard or refuse to comply with directions of Port Health staff, security agencies or evade quarantine shall be prosecuted in  accordance with the law;

(v) State governments are required to ensure that all returning travelers from all  countries are monitored to ensure adherence to the mandatory seven-day self isolation period and the repeat COVID-19 PCR test on the seventh day after arrival;  and (vi)We urge members of the public to adhere to all COVID-19 preventive measures in  place including adherence to the national travel protocol, proper use of face mask,  regular hand washing and physical distancing,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here