Benin Republic fails to bring Igboho to court for extradition trial


The extradition proceedings of Sunday Igboho, Yoruba nation agitator, suffered a setback on Wednesday as Benin Republic authorities failed to bring him before a court sitting in Cotonou.

Igboho is being held by Brigade Criminelle in Cotonou after he was arrested at Cardinal Bernardin International Airport, Cotonou, Republic of Benin, with his wife on their way to Germany on Monday night.

He was declared wanted by the Department of State Services (DSS) earlier in July after his Ibadan house was raided on July 1, 2021 by the operatives of the secret police.

Two people were killed by the DSS in the late night raid while 12 other persons were arrested and later paraded in Abuja. They have since been charged to court.

Yesterday, (Wednesday), some Yoruba living in and around Cotonou thronged the court awaiting the commencement of the trial.

There are no clear reasons why the proceedings did not commence yesterday. Ropo, Igboho’s wife, who was arrested with him at the airport, is a German citizen.

Igboho had filed for political asylum in Germany before his arrest.

Yomi Alliyu, his lawyer, had said the Extradition Treaty of 1984 between Togo, Nigeria, Ghana and Republic of Benin does not include political fugitives.

Meanwhile, the Ooni of Ife, Oba Enita Ogunwusi, has set up a 28-member committee of south-west leaders to look into Igboho’s arrest in Benin Republic.

Coordinator of the committee, Mr. Akin Osuntokun, said in a statement that the committee will look into the issues surrounding the arrest of Igboho and related matters.

“The Ooni of Ife inaugurated an advisory council comprising eminent Yoruba sons and daughters across the political spectrum. It is called the Ooni Caucus.

“The inauguration ceremony had been scheduled over a month ago and it is just an accident that it coincided with reports of Sunday Igboho’s arrest in Cotonou. Nonetheless the council is actively interested in the new development and would appropriately respond in the nearest future,” he said.

Some of the people on the committee are the Olugbon of Igbon, Oba Olusola Alao, Senator Biodun Olujimi, Toyin Saraki, Segun Awolowo, Doyin Okupe, Gbenga Daniel, and Muyiwa Ige.

With TheCable report


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here