NNPCL, other JV partners donate digital library to Niger Delta University


The Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPC Ltd), Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB), Shell Nigeria Exploration and Production Company (SNEPCo), Total Energies EP Nigeria Ltd, Nigerian Agip Exploration Ltd, and Esso Exploration and Production Nigeria (Deepwater) Ltd have donated a 2,300-seater digital library to the Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island in Bayelsa State.

NNPCL and the other companies are joint venture partners in OML 18

They said the donation was part of the JV partner commitment to encourage learning and academic excellence.

The digital library, a two-storey complex equipped with cutting-edge information technology amenities including 100 computer systems, e-learning and research facilities, interactive smart boards, projectors, camcorders, e-books, e-journals, e-learning portal, and reading halls, was handed over to the school authority last Thursday.

Other facilities in the library include wi-fi lounge, print and document hall, video and audio recordings, photography and online education centre, e-distant learning hall, chief librarian and departmental offices, IT rack room, newspaper archive, stack room for new arrivals, and conveniences.

The library complex is also equipped with a 500KVA power generator, a 500KVA transformer, a dedicated water borehole fitted with water purification facilities.

The library is designed to promote ICT education and provide a conducive learning environment for students and researchers in the school to keep them abreast of global IT practices and advancement.

Present at the commissioning and handing over ceremony of the project were the deputy governor of Bayelsa State, Mr Lawrence Evwrudjakpor; pro-chancellor of the NDU, Mr Matthew Seiyefa; vice-chancellor of NDU, Prof. Allen Agih; representative of the executive secretary of NCDMB, Dr. Ama Ikuru; deputy manager, external relations, NNPC Ltd, Ms Edith Lawson; MD of Shell Petroleum Development Company and country chair, Shell Companies in Nigeria, Mr Osagie Okunbor; and MD of SNEPCo, Mr Elohor Aiboni.