Useni, Usani, Ortom, Ekere, others win governorship tickets


Governorship primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the 2019 election were held on Monday and Tuesday with the former governor of the old Bendel State and current representative of Plateau south senatorial district, Gen. Jeremiah Timbut Useni, winning Plateau State PDP governorship ticket with 1,042 votes

The 75-year-old army general polled 1, 042 votes to beat 12 other contestants.

It was gathered that erstwhile governor of the state, Da Jonah David Jang, supported the former speaker of the state house of assembly, Mr. George Daika, while the state chairman of the PDP and former minister of sports, Mr. Damishi Sango, endorse the candidacy of the 75-year-old senator.

Born February, 16, 1943 in Langtang, Plateau State, Useni joined the army after his early education. He rose to the post of Lt. General before retiring in 1999.

He had served variously as minister of the Federal Capital Territory, minister of transport and military governor of the old Bendel State (now made up of Edo and Delta states) between 1984 and 1985,

In Cross River State, the minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Mr. Usani Usani, has emerged as the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He declared the winner on Monday at the APC Collation Unit in Calabar by the chairman, collation committee of the party in the state, Mr. Emmanuel Anom.

Usani got a total of 47,313 votes while his close rival, Senator Owan Enoh got 14, 860 votes.

Also, Professor Eyo Etim Nyong received 1,162; John Odey got 1,099 votes while Chief Edem Duke scored 1,322 votes.

In his acceptance speech, Usani promised to ensure good governance, if elected governor in 2019.

In Kano State, the incumbent governor, Mr. Umar Ganduje of Kano State, who was APC’s sole aspirant, won the primary.

The chief returning officer, Mr. Pius Odudu, declared Ganduje winner with 2,740,847 votes.

In Katsina State, Governor Aminu Bello Masari got 5, 562 votes to beat Abubakar Samaila who got eight votes and Mr. Garba Sani Dankani who received one vote.

The managing Director of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Mr. Nsima Ekere, emerged winner in the direct governorship primary of the APC in Akwa Ibom State.

Chairman of the election committee, Mr. Yamah Momoh, who announced the results said Ekere won with 160,458 votes to beat Mr. Bassey Dan-Abia, who got 4,189 and Senator John Udoedehe who finished with 2,015 votes,

In Oyo State, a former deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CNB), Mr. Adebayo Adelabu polled 4, 889 votes to emerge as APC’s governorship candidate.

The presiding officer, Mr. Demola Seriki, who announced the results, said the former governor of the state, Chief Adebayo Alao-Akala, polled 65 votes and a while the former commissioner for health, Dr.  Azzez Adeduntan got seven.

In Borno State, Prof. Babagana Umara Zulum won the APC governorship primary with 4,432 votes.

He beat Mr. Idris Mamman Durkwa, who got 114 votes, Mr. Kashim Imam who scored 20 votes; Mustapha Baba Shehuri, one vote; Ambassador Ahmed Jidda, one vote; Muhammad Magira Atom, one vote, and Mr. Gambo Lawan, two votes

In Yobe State, the national secretary of the APC, Alhaji Maimala Buni, emerged winner with 2, 797.

In Nasarawa State, the group managing director of Dangote Sugar Company, Mr. Abdullahi Sule, emerged the governorship candidate of the APC.

Chairman of APC governorship primary in the state, Abdullahi Adamu Kandido, said Sule scored 926 votes to defeat Mr. Ahmed Wadada Aliyu who scored 519 votes, and deputy governor, Mr. Silas Ali Agara who got 356 votes.

Still in the state, Mr. David Emmanuel Ombugadu who represents Akwanga/Nasarawa-Eggon/Wamba federal constituency in the national assembly won the governorship primary of the PDP.

Chairman of the PDP primary election committee, Mr. Emmanuel Anyanwu, said Ombugadu scored 745 votes to defeat Solomon Ewuga, who scored 551 votes.

The other contestants were Senator Philip Gyunka who got 123 votes, a former deputy governor, Mrs. Damishi Barau Luka, 18 votes and Senator Patricia Akwashiki who received zero votes.

In Adamawa State, the former acting governor, Mr. Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri, became the PDP governorship candidate having garnered 1,656 votes to beat the former chief protocol officer to former President Goodluck Jonathan, Ambassador Jamil Zubairu, who got 465 votes and former governor, Mr. Bala Nggilari, who received 76 votes.

The governor of Jigawa State, Mr. Mohammed Badaru Abubakar won the APC ticket in Jigawa State with 3,123 votes ahead of Yusuf Ubale Hashim, who scored 54 votes.

In Jigawa State PDP governorship primary, Alhaji Aminu Ibrahim Ringim emerged as winner with 2038 votes, while Senator Isah Galauda won the party’s governorship primary in Kebbi State.

In Benue State, Governor Dr. Samuel Ortom who picked the PDP ticket had in his acceptance speech expressed appreciation to the party for welcoming him back into its fold after a three-year stint in the APC.

The PDP governorship primary in Kaduna State produced the former member of the House of Representatives, Mr. Isa Ashiru as candidate.

Ashiru polled 1,330 votes out of 2,654 to beat Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi who got 564 votes and Mr. Mohammed Sani Sidi, who garnered 560.

In Ebonyi State, the vice chairman, senate committee on appropriation, Senator Sonni Ogbuoji, emerged as the gubernatorial candidate of the APC.

Ogbuoji, who represents Ebonyi south senatorial district, got 785 votes to defeat Prof. Bernard Odoh who had 519 votes; Dr. Edward Nkwegu garnered 395 votes while Mr. Obasi Obasi who is believed to have been sponsored by the minister of science and technology received 182 votes.

In Gombe State, Alhaji Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya defeated eight other contestants, including the former minister of transport, Senator Idris Abdullahi Umar, immediate past national youth leader of the APC, Dasuki Ibrahim Jalo Waziri, and six others to clinch the party’s ticket.

Chairman of the election committee, Alhaji Habu Bawuro, said Inuwa won with 859 votes; Muhammad Jibrin Barde, 463; Umar Farouk Bamusa, 139; Senator Idris Abdullahi Umar, 68; Alhaji Umar Kwairanga, 54; Abubakar Habu Mu’azu, 49; Ibrahim Dasuki Jalo Waziri, 28; Khamisu Ahmed Mailantarki, nine and Aliyu Haidar Abubakar, five.

The former deputy speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr. Emeka Ihedioha, emerged winner of the PDP governorship primary in Imo State

Ihedioha won the contest with a total of 1,723 votes to defeat the Senator representing Imo East senatorial zone, Mr. Samuel Anyanwu, who got 1,282 votes.

Announcing the results, the returning officer, Mr. Emma Nwala, expressed gratitude to all stakeholders who contributed in various ways to the success of the electoral process.

The exercise which was originally scheduled to hold on Tuesday Oct. 2 started at 4.00p.m on Monday and ended at 4.30a.m on Tuesday at the Kanu Nwankwo Sports Centre, Owerri with over 3,000 delegates drawn from the 27 local government areas in the state participating.

The party adopted the indirect primaries with delegates casting their votes in alphabetical order of their senatorial zones – Okigwe, Orlu and Owerri zones.

With The Nation and Daily Trust reports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here