Yomi Kasali, Shagaya, Keyamo, others appointed into boards of federal agencies


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed the general overseer of the Foundation of Truth Ministry, Lagos State, Reverend Yomi Kasali as board member of the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission (NCPC) along with Emmanuel Ebomuche, Ezekiel Agazu, Israel Akanji, Anthony Fasipe, Jidda Musa, Yusuf Biniyat and Forgiven Amachree.

Also appointed were Gen. John Shagaya and others who will be serving on the board of the National Institute for Policy and Strategy Studies, Jos; the former governor of Ekiti State, Mr. Niyi Adebayo, who will be serving on the board of the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) alongside Akingbesote Akinyeye, Suleiman Mohammed and Bello Babura as well as Chief Bode Mustapha and Mr. Festus Keyamo who will also be serving on the board of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) alongside Alhaji Garba Buba, Bello Garba, Gen. J.O.J. Okoloagu, Mudashiru Mustapha and Adewole Adeleke.

On the board of Sheda Science and Technology Complex are Senator Ayo Arise, Dr. Wasiu Olatubosun, Kevin Njideaka, Rotimi Erogbogbo, Bala Abdullahi, Shuaibu Bukkuyum, Mohammed Us, Kolawole Yusuf, Inuwa Mangoron and Gale Idriss.

The vice president, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo and others are on the board of the National Boundary Commission; he also chairs the Border Communities Development Agency, the National Planning Commission and the National Space Research and Development Agency while President Buhari chairs the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure and the Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority.

Other agencies which boards were constituted are the National Commission for Refugees, Federal Road Safety Commission, National Lottery Trust Fund, National Lottery Regulatory Commission, Federal Institute for Industrial Research, Oshodi and Project Development Institute.

The others are the Nigerian Institute of Science Laboratory Technology, Nigerian Institute for Trypanosomiasis Research, National Space Research and Development Agency, National Biotechnology Development Agency, National Board for Technology Incubation, Raw Materials Research and Development Council, Nigerian Building and Road Research Institute, Nigerian Leather Science Technology, National Office for Technology Acquisition and Promotion and Nigerian Airspace Management Agency.

Besides, the boards of the Nigerian College of Aviation Technology, Zaria; Nigerian Meteorological Agency; Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority; Nigerian Geological Survey Agency; National Steel Raw Materials Exploration Agency; National Metallurgical Development Centre, Jos; Council of Nigerian Mining Engineers and Geoscientists; National Iron Ore Mining Company, Itakpe; Petroleum Training Institute, Effurun; Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority; Petroleum Equalisation Fund; Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board; and Nigeria Customs Service were also constituted.

A statement from the office of the secretary to the government of the federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha said President Muhammadu Buhari considered the approval for the constitution of the boards as well as the appointments, very necessary, so as to provide a proper governance and oversight structure for government agencies and parastatals.

It further stated that the appointments take immediate effect and advised the supervising ministers to inaugurate the boards after letters of appointment had been issued.

“The constitution of the boards with the appointments is a demonstration of this government’s efforts aimed at building strong institutions of governance, and by extension, improving the quality of policy formulation and supervision.

“While these appointments represent a substantial number of hitherto pending board appointments, some more appointments are still being processed and will be released in due course,” the statement added.

According to the statement, 209 chairmen and 1,258 members were appointed into the various boards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here