PDP sets up campaign committee for Ekiti governorship election


Ahead of the July 14 governorship election in Ekiti State, the Peoples Democratic Party has inaugurated Ekiti State Governorship Campaign Council chaired by the governor of Akwa Ibom State, Mr. Udom Emmanuel.

The party’s national chairman, Mr. Uche Secondus, inaugurated the committee on Monday in Abuja at the PDP National Secretariat.

He said that the calibre of members showed the importance the party attached to the election.

“Ekiti state means so much to our party because of the strategic position it occupies in that geopolitical region.

“It also means much to us based on the fact that it is a test run election ahead of Osun state governorship election in September and the general elections in less than one year from now.”

Secondus said the PDP hoped to win the polls given the achievements of Gov. Ayodele Fayose in the last three years.

He claimed that the All Progressives Congress (APC) plans to “capture Ekiti at all cost”.

“Let me warn that if there is any attempt to thwart the will of the people in Ekiti state, there may be no general election and the entire democratic process will be in endangered.”

He urged the campaign council members to “harness the aspirations of Ekiti people and ensure that their will prevail.”

Emmanuel, chairman of the council, said the committee would do its best to ensure that PDP wins the election.

He said that with the quality of the people in the council, there was no room for failure.

“We promise that we will make sacrifices to give it our best.”

“I also believe that PDP governors have done so much in terms of delivering dividends of democracy to the people and critical infrastructure in the last three years.

“If the APC believe they have done for their people in the last three years let us call ourselves out and compare notes. Let us know the crop of the governors that delivered more.”

The PDP Chairman, South West, Dr Eddy Olafeso, said that the party was sensitising registered voters in the state to collect their Permanent Voter Cards.

He expressed optimism that the PDP would win Ekiti and reclaim the South West.

Some members of the council include, Dr Ibrahim Dankwambo as Secretary; all PDP governors, Atiku Abubakar, Sule Lamido, David Mark, Ibrahim Shekarau, Taminu Turaki, Ahmed Makarfi, Kola Ologbondiyan and Senator Biodun Olujimi.

With NAN report


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here